What Matthew Taught Me About: Expectations

Matthew has taught me so many things! I have shared with you, that he taught me that hard work really does pay off. Because he knew that, my brilliant boy learned to snap his fingers like a pro! Another very important thing he taught me is: You can not let other people’s expectations define who you are or who you will become.

Matthew had his first MRI when he was 16 months old. After looking at it, were told that based on what they saw, Matthew should not be able to stand, or walk or talk. They were surprised that he was even able to sit up on his own. As parents of a little one, we were devastated. All of our hopes for him seemed to come crashing down around us in that single moment. We had gone through so much to get Matthew and we were not going to let him down! We started our search for help and answers before that day had even ended. Our pediatrician referred us to a fantastic neurologist and the neurologist recommended Feeding Therapy and Occupational Therapy (OT) and so it began. Matthew and I worked together and listened to the therapists. He got mad and I cried. He cried and I got mad. But together we worked. Before long, he was running and jumping and dancing!

Matthew taught me that you are capable of so much more than a test can show. The results of testing can show you where the journey starts. It doesn’t decide where you will end up.

IMG_3269.jpg

 
14
Kudos
 
14
Kudos

Now read this

It’s a Date

There are so many days that I can tell, without even looking a a calendar, what the date is. I may not know the day of the week or the time, but there are quite a few days that I can always tell when they are coming. When I woke up this... Continue →