It Takes a Village

I am sitting here trying to think of how to begin. How to share who I am and what it is I am doing, not to mention how I got to this place. The world for a special needs parent is a big, scary, confusing and often lonely place. With doctors, therapies, schools, and friends, it is hard to know where to start. When beginning this journey, chances are you don’t have a ready made network of people to give you guidance or a whole lot of time to form that network. I have learned that it truly takes a village to get the care and answers that you need.

For 10 years, I navigated through this world of a special needs mom. I have found some extraordinary people who became a part of Matthew’s team. With their help, Matthew played and learned and grew into a sweet, funny little boy and with his help, Matthew’s team learned A LOT. (A team, after all, works together!)

It is my dream to keep this teamwork going. To take what Matthew has taught me and what his team has taught me and share it. To make life for families and caregivers dealing with developmental challenges a little easier and a little less lonely. The best way to get information is to hear it from someone who has been there. Remember, you are not in this alone.

So, take a deep breath and join the team!

 
16
Kudos
 
16
Kudos

Now read this

Matthew’s Sweet 16

Here we are again, the end of another January and Matthew’s birthday is less than a week away. This is never an easy time for Mike and I, but this year brings a different challenge with it. The Pandemic and social distancing have made it... Continue →